Posted by: mistyp0079 | December 16, 2010

Icy Weather brings out good deeds

Since I am away on one of my travel adventures, I wanted to get up early and have breakfast at my hotel.  Since I hardly ever keep up with the news, I was up and ready to go out the door.  To my literal shock, there was ice on the pathway all the way to the car.  I looked up and saw a man holding a bucket full of salt and he was salting the walkway.  He offered to assist me to my car and I held on and made it safely. 

I was prepared to take it from here.  I was brave enough to make it to the car so I was ready to chip the frozen ice that held my car hostage.  The gentleman told me to start my car and let it warm up for five minutes and he would scrape the car for me.  I didn’t know what to say.  Thank you didn’t seem enough.  I warmed up the car and he knocked off the ice as promised.  I wanted to give him something in return.  When I started to give some money he declined.  He said that it wouldn’t be a good deed if he accepted money.

Since I made it to my car, I decided not to try my luck getting breakfast at the hotel so on to my place of destination,  I carefully drove through the ice and snow.  The main roads were clear but the road hazards were still there.  Not many cars were on the road.  I saw a Chick-fil-A and drove into the parking lot.  The parking lot was a sheet of ice and I wondered if I would make it to the drive through window without sliding into the building.  I saw a man outside looking as if he was testing the hazards of the ice.  I asked him if Chick-fil-A was open and they were closed currently.  I turned my steering wheel to get out of the parking lot.  I had a near miss with a Volkswagen Beetle and in it had a blonde-haired woman zooming across the ice.  She looked at me as if I lost my mind and I was thinking the same about her.

Onward to my destination.  I have stayed off the freeway and started taking the streets one light at a time.  I have slowly passed through school zones and watched as a few cars have picked up speed to pass me.  Other cars have taken my lead and slowed down to get to their destination.  I finally arrived to an icy parking lot.

While pondering on whether or not to get out, I saw a man who told me to stay in the car until he finished salting the pathway.  I was going to be the obedient child and do as told.  I knew the weather conditions were horrible and ice is nothing to play with.  If there was about six inches or more of snow, then I would be able to use the snow as traction on the ice. Since there wasn’t any snow and I didn’t bring my ice skates (like that would help), I remained in the car waiting for a break.

I watched a woman arrive at the parking lot and I told her to be careful.  She said the first few steps were icy and she made it the rest of the way to the building.  I wasn’t taking any chance on being the first one landing on my butt and under my car to be found by the EMS or the coroner.  The man I saw earlier came back and said that it was okay to go to the building.  I still wasn’t getting out the car.  The man assisted me from my car all the way to the building making sure I didn’t fall.

I told the man my story of my earlier escapades and he told me that my angels had built a fort around me.  So I’m thanking my angels Mike and George today for letting me start off the day safely and my ultimate thanks is to the almighty God.


Responses

  1. Misty, why don’t you nominate the guys for a stay at the Jura Lodge in Scotland? Isle of Jura whisky are looking for people who have been carrying out good deeds and want to reward the people who did the nicest deed.

    There’s more details here: http://bit.ly/good-deed

    (Hope you don’t mind me posting this, just saw the post and it seemed like a nice thing you might want to do to thank them – if you have their details of course.)


Leave a comment

Categories